Interview with John Burgess

Дата публикации: 11/28/2013

As part of the research contest for young scientists Faith and Religion in Contemporary Russia «Sreda» started a series of interviews with researchers who study religious aspects. The following interview is with a jury member and a theologian John Burgess (Pittsburgh, USA).

«I am very interested in the efforts of the Russian Orthodox Church to construct a new Orthodox culture that reaches into every area of society and offers Russians basic narratives, symbols, and rituals by which to understand who they are as a people and nation. »

John Burgess,

James Henry Snowden Professor of Systematic Theology, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary

burgess,-john high resMr Burgess, where did you study and get your education?

падениеI was trained in Christian systematic theologian at the University of Chicago and wrote a dissertation on the problem of relating the Christian Scriptures to political affairs. During this time, I had the opportunity to study for a year at the Lutheran seminary in communist East Berlin (1984-85). My first book was about the role of the churches in the peaceful revolution of 1989 (The East German Church and the End of Communism, Oxford University Press, 1997).

Where do you work now?

encounters-with-orthodoxySince 1998, I have been professor of systematic theology at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary , Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It is a Protestant seminary related to the Calvinist tradition and the Presbyterian Church (USA). I teach a wide variety of courses about basic Christian doctrine and have written books about the authority of Scripture, the sanctification of the Christian life, and what Protestants and Orthodox can learn from each other (Encounters with Orthodoxy, Westminster John Knox Press, 2013).

How did you get interested in Russia?

My interests in Russia span the past decade. Originally I came to Russia to study the Orthodox tradition, about which I knew very little at the time. Soon I was deeply moved by the beauty of Orthodoxy—the liturgy, the icons, and the monasteries—and wanted to know more about what role the Church would play in shaping post-communist Russian society.

I have also worked hard to learn the Russian language—my first Russian lesson was at age 48! It has been deeply satisfying to make progress, and now I comfortably conduct interviews and give academic papers in Russian.

Please tell us about your current research interests.

In 2004-05, I spent a sabbatical year in St. Petersburg; in 2011-12, atSt. Tikhon’s Orthodox University in Moscow. I am very interested in the efforts of the Russian Orthodox Church to construct a new Orthodox culture that reaches into every area of society and offers Russians basic narratives, symbols, and rituals by which to understand who they are as a people and nation. I have focused on four areas of Church outreach to society: religious education, social ministry, interpretation and commemoration of the Church’s suffering under communism, and parish life.

Because I am a theologian, I am especially interested in the social teachings that undergird the Church’s social vision. In this regard, the Social Concept of the Russian Orthodox Church is an especially important document. However, too many Western researchers focus only on the Social Concept. I am developing a research methodology that also takes seriously what I call the Church’s “operative theology” in its social initiatives.

To be sure, few Russian Orthodox theologians have written theological treatises directly on the topic of church, state, and society, but Church leaders regularly speak about the Church’s relationship to society. Church historians examine ways in which Church leaders responded to the Bolshevik government in the 1920s and 30s, Church publications and Web-sites try to educate people about what it means to live as an Orthodox person in contemporary society, and Orthodox social workers draw on Orthodox beliefs as they think about rehabilitation of alcoholics or drug addicts. These materials provide rich insight into the key theological ideas that define the Church’s approach to Russian society. To give just one example, I am interested in how Church leaders often interpret the suffering of the new martyrs and confessors as helping to purify the Russian nation and sow the seeds for its rebirth.

My goal is to complete a major scholarly book on these questions by the end of 2015.

How would you describe the religious situation in Russia?

I am fascinated by the variety of ways in which Russians relate to the Orthodox Church. Many call themselves Orthodox but have little understanding of Church doctrine or rituals. They nevertheless respect the Church and see it as part of Russian national identity. Other people observe some of Orthodoxy’s holy days and rituals but have no sense of belonging to a particular parish. Still others regularly attend the liturgy and receive the Eucharist.

It is therefore difficult to judge just how much influence the Church really has in Russian society today. Perhaps 70-80% of Russians call themselves Orthodox, yet only 3-5% regularly participate in church life, keep the fasts, and receive the Eucharist. From one point of view, the Church is the largest nongovernmental organization in Russia and has tremendous opportunities to influence state and society. From another point of view, the Church is just one voice among many in the new global marketplace in Russian society.

I am trying to understand whether and how the Orthodox tradition gives many Russians a sense of national greatness and destiny, even if they do not actively participate in church life.

Which Russian researchers do you find especially helpful for your research?

Among the many from whom I learn, let me mention just three. The historical work of Father Alexander Mazyrin at St. Tikhon’s has been very valuable to me in understanding the Church struggles of the early 20th century. The sociological research that Igor Ryazantsev and his researchers are conducting is helping me appreciate the growing interest in Orthodoxy among young, educated, urban, middle-class Russians. Olga Kazmina at Moscow State University is doing very important work on the resurgence of Orthodoxy since the collapse of communism and how the Church will relate to a society that is increasingly pluralistic.

Learn more:

February 25, 2013. A lecture of Prof. John Burgess in St.-Tikhon’s University

TV-programme “The Church and the world”. Metropolitan Hilarion (Alfeyev) vs John Burgess

Prof. John Burgess gives lectures on Karl Barth

Personal website of Prof. John Burgess

Prepared by Ksenia Medvedeva

NIKE PAS CHER POUR FEMME nike jordan 6 homme pas cher

Интервью с Джоном Берджессом

Дата публикации: 28.11.2013

В рамках конкурса исследовательских работ молодых ученых «Вера и религия в современной России» служба «Среда» начала серию интервью с исследователями религии. Очередное интервью — с членом жюри конкурса, теологом Джоном Берджессом (Питтсбург, США).

Читать интервью в оригинале=>

«Мне интересно узнать о деятельности РПЦ по созданию новой православной культуры, которая проникает во все сферы общества и предлагает россиянам нарративы, символы и обряды, с помощью которых они осознают себя как народ и нацию.»

Джон Берджесс,

профессор Питсбургской семинарии

burgess,-john high resГ-н Берджесс, расскажите, пожалуйста, где Вы получили образование?

падениеЯ изучал христианское систематическое богословие в Чикагском университете и написал диссертацию о проблеме соотношения Писания и политики. Тогда у меня была возможность учиться в течение года в лютеранской семинарии в коммунистическом Восточном Берлине (1984-1985). Моя первая книга была о роли церкви в мирной революции 1989 года (The East German Church and the End of Communism, Oxford University Press, 1997).

Где вы работаете сейчас?

encounters-with-orthodoxyС 1998 года я являюсь профессором систематического богословия в теологической семинарии в Питтсбурге, штат Пенсильвания. Это протестантская семинария, которая принадлежит кальвинистской традиции и пресвитерианской церкви (США). Я преподаю много разных курсов по основам христианского учения и также написал книги о роли Писания и о том, чему протестанты и православные могут учиться друг у друга (Встречи с православием, Westminster John Knox Press, 2013).

Почему Вам интересна Россия?

Интерес к России появился в последние десять лет. Поначалу я приехал в Россию, чтобы изучить православную традицию, о которой знал в то время очень мало. Я был потрясен красотой Православия — Литургии, икон и монастырей — и захотел узнать больше о том, какую роль будет играть Церковь в формировании пост-коммунистического российского общества.

Я много трудился, чтобы изучить русский язык — мой первый урок русского языка был в возрасте 48 лет! Было очень приятно видеть свои успехи в учебе, теперь я без труда даю интервью и пишу научные работы на русском языке.

Расскажите, пожалуйста, о Ваших научных интересах.

В 2004-2005 гг. я провел годичный отпуск в Санкт-Петербурге, в 2011-2012 — в Православном Свято-Тихоновском университете в Москве. Мне интересно узнать о деятельности Русской Православной Церкви по созданию новой православной культуры, которая проникает во все сферы общества и предлагает россиянам нарративы, символы и обряды, с помощью которых они осознают себя как народ и нацию. Я сосредоточил свое внимание на четырех сферах, в которых Церковь пробует достучаться до общества: религиозное образование, социальное служение, приходская жизнь и интерпретация и увековечение памяти о положении Церкви при коммунизме.

Поскольку я богослов, мне особенно интересны в социальные учения, которые положены в основу социального видения Церкви. В связи с этим, социальная концепция Русской Православной Церкви является особенно важным документом. Однако многие западные исследователи сосредотачиваются только на социальной концепции. Я же занимаюсь разработкой методологии исследования, которая также принимает во внимание то, что я называю «оперативным богословием» Церкви (the Church’s “operative theology”) в ее социальных инициативах.

Надо отметить, что немногие русские православные богословы писали богословские трактаты непосредственно на тему церкви, государства и общества, но церковные лидеры регулярно говорят об отношениях Церкви и общества. Историки Церкви исследуют, как церковные лидеры отреагировали на большевистское правительство в 1920-е и 1930-е годы, церковные публикации и веб-сайты пытаются донести до людей, что значит быть православным в современном обществе, а православные социальные работники опираются на православные убеждения, рассуждая о реабилитации алкоголиков и наркоманов. Эти материалы дают понимание ключевых богословских идей, определяющих подход Церкви к российскому обществу. Приведу лишь один пример. Мне интересно то, что церковные лидеры часто интерпретируют страдания новомучеников и исповедников как помогающие очистить русскую нацию и посеять семена для ее возрождения.

Я планирую завершить серьезную научную книгу по этой теме к концу 2015 года.

Как бы Вы описали религиозную ситуацию в России?

Меня удивляет, как по-разному россияне выстраивают свои отношения с Православной Церковью. Многие называют себя православными, но имеют слабое представление о позиции Церкви или обрядах. Тем не менее, они уважают церковь и видят ее как часть русской национальной идентичности. Другие люди соблюдают некоторые праздники и обряды, но не являются прихожанами. Третьи регулярно посещают Литургию и причащаются.

Поэтому трудно судить, каково на самом деле влияние церкви в современном российском обществе. Примерно 70-80 % россиян называют себя православными, но только 3-5% регулярно принимают участие в церковной жизни, постятся и причащаются. С одной стороны, Церковь является крупнейшей неправительственной организацией в России и имеет огромные возможности для оказания влияния на государство и общество. С другой стороны, Церковь является лишь одним голосом из многих в новом глобальном рынке российского общества.

Я пытаюсь понять, дает ли и как православная традиция многим россиянам чувство национального величия и судьбы, даже если они не принимают активного участия в церковной жизни.

Чьи работы российских ученых наиболее полезны для Вашего исследования?

Среди многих, у кого я учусь, назову троих. Исторические работы отца Александра Мазырина в Свято-Тихоновском университете, по-моему, очень ценны для понимания положения Церкви в начале 20 века. Социологические исследования, которые проводят Игорь Рязанцев и его коллеги, помогают мне оценить растущий интерес к православию среди молодых образованных городских жителей России, принадлежащих к среднему классу. Ольга Казьмина в Московском государственном университете пишет очень важную работу о возрождении православия после падения коммунизма и взаимоотношениях Церкви и общества.

Узнать больше:

25 февраля 2013 в ПСТГУ прошла открытая лекция профессора Питсубргской семинарии Джона Бёрджесса

Телепередача «Церковь и мир». Митрополит Иларион (Алфеев) vs Джон Берджесс

Профессор Джон Берджесс читает лекции об основоположнике «диалектической теологии» Карле Барте

Персональный сайт Дж.Берджесса

Подготовила Ксения Медведева

NIKE PAS CHER POUR FEMME nike jordan 6 homme pas cher